NY STATE SECURITY GUARD LICENSE: FAQ
What are the requirements for becoming a licensed New York State security guard?
You must be either a U.S. citizen or a resident alien of the United States, be 18 years or older and generally not have any record of past convictions of serious crimes. You must also take the state-mandated 8-Hour Pre-Assignment course. A certificate is issued after successful completion and is needed as part of the application that gets sent to NY State. You are also required to take the 16-hour On the Job Training (OTJT) course within 90 days of being employed as a security guard.
Do I need to get fingerprints?
YES! You will need to schedule an appointment with IdentoGo which will generate your electronic fingerprints. Schedule an appointment online at www.identogo.com or call 877-472-6915. They have an office 2 blocks away from Star Security Training. Your fingerprints will be sent to the FBI to check for any criminal history. You will receive a receipt which will be sent along with your application.
How do I apply for a security guard license?
The following must be sent to the NYS Division of Licensing Services:
--Completed Employee Statement and Security Guard Application (Form DOS-1206-f-a).
--Fingerprinting receipt from approved vendor
--$36 non-refundable application fee payable to NYS Department of State (only money orders, cashier's check or company checks are accepted—no personal checks or credit cards)
--Copy of 8 Hour Pre-Assignment training certificate
--Any additional documentation requested in response to questions on application
How much does the license cost?
$136.25. Fees include:
$100.25—Fingerprinting Fee (payable to IDEMIA)
$36 application fee (check or money order payable to NYS Department of State)
The application form requires a NYS drivers license ID number. What if I don't have a drivers license?
No need to worry. The same photo that's on your NY State drivers license will be used for your security guard license. Those without a drivers license will need to go a DMV office to get a photo taken (no cost involved). An FS-6T receipt with a 9-digit ID number will be given to you. This is the ID number you will use on the application form.
Where do I send the application?
New York Department of State
Division of Licensing Services,
PO Box 22052
Albany, NY 12201-2052
How long does it take to receive my security guard license?
It takes approximately 21 days from the time you send in your application to the time you receive your actual license in the mail. To check to see if your license has been processed, visit the Licensing Status page of the NY State Division of Licensing Services. If you just applied for the first time, you can do a search by name.
If you applied for your first license, you can check the status by clicking here.
If you're renewing and already have a security guard id number, you can search by entering your id. Here's the link: https://appext20.dos.ny.gov/lcns_public/main_screen
Can you get a license if you've been arrested and convicted of a crime?
The Department of State reviews all records of applicants. If you have been arrested or convicted, you will need to provide a statement explaining these events on your record and also provide copies of records received from the criminal court. New NY State laws make it possible for records of certain felony and misdemeanor convictions to be sealed after 10 years. You'll need to apply for a Certificate of Disposition from the court to get these convictions sealed. Visit NYCourts.gov for more information on obtaining a Certificate of Disposition.
I lost my security guard license. How do I replace it?
You can get a new license by downloading and filling out a Duplicate License/Registration Request form and mailing it to the NYS Division of Licensing Services with a check for $25. Payment via credit card is also accepted by filing out a Credit Card Authorization form available here.
Updating address, name changes on your security guard license.
To initiate changes to your security card's information (name, address, etc.), you need to fill out and send in a NYS Change Notice form, along with check for $25. Download the form here.